Which state has the most bookstores?

What American state holds the honor of having the most bookstores?

According to a new Publishers Weekly report, California has the largest number of bookstores total, but it’s Montana that has the most per capita. The Big Sky State, with a population of only a little over a million, has more than 60 bookstores.

The Publishers Weekly report counted every kind of bookstore in a state, including chains like Barnes & Noble, big-box stores that sell books, and independent and Christian bookstores. The data looked at the bookstores present in the US during 2012.

Click here for entire article

2 Responses to Which state has the most bookstores?

  1. Cassie says:

    I am shocked about this news from Montana. I wanted to go there before in hopes I could see a moose, but now I’m hooked. Montana is on my to-do list.

  2. thehealer31 says:

    I must admit I had the same reaction.

    I’ve never been to Montana but my impression, a badly uninformed one, of the place is probably similar to that of other people.

    Glad to be so mistaken.

Leave a Reply

