Beats, Rhymes & Life: The Travels of A Tribe Called Quest

The Low End Theory is one of the few rap albums that I’ve listened to from the moment it was released right up until today. Many years have passed.

I’ll never forget the moment that I put it in my CD player and heard the thumping sound of Ron Carter’s bass.

Ron Carter?!!??

I couldn’t believe it.

This was something different.

That was clear from the start and after listening to the whole album I was floored.

It was funky, it had a wonderful collage of jazz sounds driving the music and the lyrics were hard hitting, street smart and political.

The whole vibe of the album was unlike anything I ever heard before in rap music.

I was a huge Public Enemy and KRS-One fan but A Tribe Called Quest were in a league of their own.

Their music came from a different place and as artists they were blazing their own trail.

I listened to The Low End Theory non stop for months and months. And have never stopped listening to it.

Like all great art, the music has held up well over the years.

I would go as far to say that it is a timeless album.

I wish the group had kept it together and continued on their musical path.

Short lived as their career may have been they were able to share their unique musical gifts with the world and left an unforgettable mark with The Low End Theory.

Alot lesser artists could only dream of such.

Leave a Reply

